What is IELTS?

The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is intended to assist you in working, studying, or migrating to a country where English is the primary language. This includes Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

During the test, your ability to listen, read, write, and speak in English will be evaluated. The IELTS exam is graded on a scale of 1-9.

IELTS is partly owned by the British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and Cambridge Assessment English.

Why clear IELTS?

You should be able to prove a high level of English language capabilities if you want to work, live, or study in an English-speaking country. With 379 million speakers worldwide, English is the third most spoken language in the world.

The ability to communicate in the native language of the country in which you wish to work or study has numerous advantages. It is also necessary for job opportunities and community integration.

IELTS is the most widely used test for those seeking to migrate to Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the UK. It is recognised by over 11,000 employers, universities, schools, and immigration bodies worldwide, including 3,400 institutions in the United States.

IELTS Score Scale

Band score

Skill level 



Expert user

The candidate has complete command of the language. Their use of English is acceptable, accurate, and fluent, demonstrating complete comprehension.


Very good user

The candidate has fully operational command of the language with only fewer unsystematic inaccuracies and inappropriate usage. In unfamiliar situations, they may misinterpret some things. They are adept at handling complex and detailed argumentation.


Good user

The candidate has operational command of the language, though with occasional inaccuracies, inappropriate usage and misunderstandings in some situations. They generally handle complex language well and understand detailed reasoning.


Competent user

The test taker has an effective command of the language despite some inaccuracies, inappropriate usage and misunderstandings. They can use and understand fairly complex language, particularly in familiar situations.


Modest user

The test taker has a partial command of the language and copes with overall meaning in most situations, although they are likely to make many mistakes. They should be able to handle basic communication in their own field.


Limited user

The test taker’s basic competence is limited to familiar situations. They frequently show problems in understanding and expression. They are not able to use complex language.


Extremely limited user

The test taker conveys and understands only general meaning in very familiar situations. There are frequent breakdowns in communication.


Intermittent user

The test taker has great difficulty understanding spoken and written English.



The test taker has no ability to use the language except a few isolated words.


Did not attempt the test

The test taker did not answer the questions.

What IELTS score am I required to have?

IELTS is conducted in India by British Council. We are now a Member of the British Council IELTS Partnership Programme and the IELTS Registration Centre for British Council. You can visit us and register at no extra cost. The detailed information about registering for the IELTS can be found at www.britishcouncil.org . IELTS is offered on specific days of the year. One may access the whole schedule which can vary depending on the country by following the given link www.ielts.org or by contacting us. IELTS can be taken unlimited number of times. IELTS score will be valid for 2 years after from the date the test was taken.

We're here to help

Get in touch with our student support team for any queries or specific needs.